Erfolge

MX3 World Champion

The MX3 World Championship title is the highlight of his career so far. For Matthias, the title of MX3 World Champion is almost comparable to his Dakar title. The entrepreneur Wolfgang Hillinger, his supporter and good friend, backs Matthias for 5 years and continues to do so.


Rally Dakar Champion

The key day is the tenth stage. Matthias makes the right choice in navigation on the decisive note and secures a lead of 45 minutes. He maintains his lead the finish and on January 20th, 2018 he makes Austrian sports history: Matthias wins the 40th edition of the most legendary and certainly toughest rally in the world.


2nd place Rally Dakar

Without any expectations, Matthias makes his comeback. After 14 exhausting stages he is grateful to receive the Bedouin on the podium for the second place in Buenos Aires. A very emotional moment.


heavy fall at Rally Dakar

His second appearance at the Rally Dakar ends abruptly. A heavy crash on the seventh stage forces him to give up. After a femur fracture he receives life-saving surgery still in Bolivia and enters long months of rehabilitation at the Red Bull Training- and Diagnostic Center.


World Rally Champion

Already in his first year competing at the World Rally Championship, Matthias crowned his second World Champion title. Unexpectedly and very surprisingly, he wins the overall ranking of the FIM Rallye Raid Series. At his first Dakar appearance, food poisoning forces him to give up. A victory of the third stage, however, confirms his great potential.


Rally change

The closure of the MX3 class obliges Matthias to change. Following the advice from his mentor Heinz Kinigadner he experiments with rallying and conducts a short first training in Morocco. Only a few weeks later, he wins his first race, the Hellas Rally in Greece. Kinigadner sees Matthias’ talent and supports his rally ambitions.

Erfolge

Rallye-Dakar-Champion

Der Schlüsseltag ist die zehnte Etappe. Matthias trifft in der Navigation bei der entscheidenden Note die richtige Wahl und kann sich einen Vorsprung von 45 Minuten rausholen. Diesen gibt er bis ins Ziel nicht mehr her und am 20. Jänner 2018 schreibt er österreichische Sportgeschichte: Matthias gewinnt die 40. Ausgabe der legendärsten und härtesten Rallye der Welt.


2. Platz Rallye Dakar

Ohne Erwartungen geht Matthias in sein Comeback Jahr. Nach 14 kräftezehrenden Etappen darf er am Podium in Buenos Aires den Beduinen für den zweiten Platz in Empfang nehmen. Ein sehr emotionaler Moment.


Rallye Dakar schwerer Sturz

Das zweite Antreten bei der Rallye Dakar nimmt ein abruptes Ende. Ein schwerer Sturz auf der siebenten Etappe zwingen Ihn zur Aufgabe. Nach einem Oberschenkelbruch folgt noch in Bolivien die OP und im Red Bull Trainings und Diagnostikzentrum eine monatelange Rehabilitation.


Rallye-Weltmeister

Gleich im ersten Rallye-WM-Jahr krönt sich Matthias mit seinem zweiten Weltmeistertitel. Unerwartet und sehr überraschend gewinnt er die Gesamtwertung der FIM-Rallye-Raid Serie. Bei seinem ersten Dakar Auftritt zwingt ihn eine Lebensmittelvergiftung zur Aufgabe. Ein Sieg der dritten Etappe bestätigt allerdings sein großes Potenzial.


Rallye Umstieg

Die Auflösung der MX3-Klasse zwingt Matthias zum Umstieg. Nach Anraten von Heinz Kinigadner versucht er sich im Rallyesport und bestreitet ein kurzes Training in Marokko. Wenige Wochen danach gewinnt er sein erstes Rennen, die Hellas Rallye in Griechenland. Kinigadner sieht Talent in Matthias und fördert ihn.


MX3 Weltmeister

Der Weltmeistertitel in der MX3 Klasse stellt den bisherigen Höhepunkt seiner Karriere dar. Der Titel des MX3-Weltmeisters ist für Matthias dem Dakar Titel beinahe gleichzusetzen. Sein Mentor und mittlerweile guter Freund, der Unternehmer Wolfgang Hillinger, unterstützt Matthias seit 5 Jahren und tut dies auch noch immer.